College in the Schools Students

College in the Schools (CIS) – Student Information

College in the Schools (CIS) is a concurrent enrollment program administered by Central Lakes College (CLC) in partnership with regional high schools.  The CIS program gives high schools an opportunity to strengthen their academic course offerings while allowing students to earn college credit.  Concurrent enrollment courses are taught by college-credentialed high school instructors in collaboration with CLC faculty members.  Students gain exposure to the academic challenges of college and strengthen their study skills while learning in their high school environment.

The CLC College in the Schools program is accredited by the National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships (NACEP).

CLC CIS Admission Requirements

12th Grade.  High School GPA 2.5 or higher

11th Grade.  High School GPA 3.0 or higher

10th Grade.  High School GPA 3.0 or higher AND a Letter of Support from their high school counselor

Students who do not meet CLC CIS Admissions Requirements may submit a CIS Appeal for Admissions.

CLC CIS Admission Steps

STEP 1. Submit CLC Application

See Steps to Complete CIS/PSEO Application document for detailed information.

STEP 2. Send current high school transcript to CLC

Work with your high school counselor to have an official high school transcript sent directly to CLC.

NOTE!  10th Grade students must also submit a Letter of Support from their high school counselor.

CLC CIS Course Placement

Reading College Level / Writing College Level: High School GPA 2.6 or higher allows registration for most Minnesota Transfer Curriculum (MnTC) coursework, including ENGL 1410 Composition I.

Algebra College Level: High School GPA 2.8 or higher AND successful completion of HS Algebra II (C- or higher) allows registration for college level math coursework.

NOTE!  Students who do not meet course placement requirements based on High School GPA may opt to use MCA, ACT, SAT, or Accuplacer test scores.  Find more information about Determining Course Placement and CLC Placement Levels online.

CIS students who do not meet prerequisite requirements for a specific course may work with their high school instructor to complete a CIS Prerequisite Waiver Form, final approval of this waiver request will be made by CLC faculty collaborator.

CLC CIS Registration

Students work with their high school counselor to register for courses using e-Services or another method as determined by their school.  A Minnesota State student may earn a maximum of 22 credits per term.

Achieve Success!

CLC is committed to providing CIS students with the same opportunities for learning, connection, and accountability as all other CLC students.  Students should visit the CLC Advising webpage to learn more about the tools and resources available to them.  CIS Students can participate in student activities and events, check out the CLC Student Life webpage for more information.

CIS students are expected to adhere to the same academic and conduct standards as all CLC students, please review the CLC College Policies webpage for additional information.  CLC encourages students to resolve issues of complaint on your own; however, if they cannot do so, please follow the Student Complaint Process.

Contact Information

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIO Student Support Services 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Mallori Sheik Director of Accessibility Services Accessibility 218-855-8175 mallori.sheik@clcmn.edu 4
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor Faculty Mathematics Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIO Student Support Services 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Faculty Psychology 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray instructor HistoryTransferPathway - History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Jim Kocherer Instructor FarmBusinessManagement 763-218-7030 jim.kocherer@clcmn.edu https://dynamicforms.ngwebsolutions.com/ShowForm.aspx?RequestedDynamicFormTemplate=0938e712-0d6d-4332-aba3-158670c49513 17
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Teresa Schmitz Assistant Director of HR Human Resources 218-855-8050 teresa.schmitz@clcmn.edu 19
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessInstructor - BusinessTransfer 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Call Now
X
X