Course Placement & Testing

Course Placement & Testing

All Minnesota State colleges require students to provide evidence of reading, writing and/or math skills for placement into certain college level courses to ensure students have the academic knowledge to succeed.  If course placement is a requirement for the program you are studying, you will need to have your course placement determined before registering for courses.  Students can view their current Placement Levels through their e-service account.

Uncertain about your course placement?  Fill out the CLC Course Placement Survey and you will receive an email informing you of your next steps.

Determining Course Placement

Previous College Coursework
If you have successfully completed a college degree or college-level coursework in English and/or Math this may meet course placement requirements.  Please submit an official transcript to CLC for transfer evaluation.

High School GPA
If you are a current High School student or graduated from High School within the past ten years your GPA may meet course placement requirements.  To determine your Placement Level(s) please check your e-services account.

Need to submit a High School GPA?  Fill out the CLC Course Placement Survey and enter your High School GPA, then you will receive a follow up email informing you of your next steps.

ACT, MCA, SAT, and/or Accuplacer scores
If you have taken an ACT, MCA, SAT, or Accuplacer test within the past five years your scores may meet course placement requirements.  To determine your Placement Level(s) please check your e-services account.

Need to submit test scores?  Send scores to Course Placement staff listed at the bottom on this page.

Take the Accuplacer Placement Test

If you do not meet course placement requirements using one of the options listed above you may consider taking the Accuplacer Placement Test.  This test helps to determine your current skill level and therefore make informed course placement decisions.

To help you save time and money it is important to prepare prior to taking the Accuplacer test.  Schedule an Accuplacer Placement Test using the calendar below.

Guided Self Placement
If you do not meet course placement requirements using one of the options listed above you may choose to place yourself into coursework without additional information about your current skill level.

To start this process please complete a Guided Self Placement Agreement.  Once this form is submitted please schedule an appointment with an academic advisor.

Schedule an Accuplacer Test Session

To register for an Accuplacer Test Session please contact Megan Kath 218-855-8019 Megan.Kath@clcmn.edu or Gayle Wonders 218-894-5114 gayle.wonders@clcmn.edu

To test at another Minnesota State campus first contact CLC to get a voucher.  If you are a student from another Minnesota State college who would like to test at CLC please contact your home institution and receive a voucher before registering for an Accuplacer Test Session at CLC.


Questions about course placement?

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIO Student Support Services 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Mallori Sheik Director of Accessibility Services Accessibility 218-855-8175 mallori.sheik@clcmn.edu 4
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor Faculty Mathematics Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIO Student Support Services 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Faculty Psychology 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray instructor HistoryTransferPathway - History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Jim Kocherer Instructor FarmBusinessManagement 763-218-7030 jim.kocherer@clcmn.edu https://dynamicforms.ngwebsolutions.com/ShowForm.aspx?RequestedDynamicFormTemplate=0938e712-0d6d-4332-aba3-158670c49513 17
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Teresa Schmitz Assistant Director of HR Human Resources 218-855-8050 teresa.schmitz@clcmn.edu 19
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessInstructor - BusinessTransfer 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Call Now
X
X