Sociology Transfer Pathway A.A. Degree

Sociology Transfer Pathway A.A. Degree

Program Description

Sociologists study human’s social lives, activities, interactions, processes, and organizations within the context of larger social, political, and economic forces. They examine how social influences affect different individuals and groups, and the ways organizations and institutions affect people’s lives. The Sociology Transfer Pathway provides a broad base of general education relevant to sociology careers, and prepares students for transfer to a designated Sociology bachelor’s degree program at Minnesota State universities. The sociology major teaches students how to think about individuals, groups, institutions, communities and societies in all of their complexity and interconnectedness and how to use the scientific method to ask and answer social research questions about these entities using data. Employers seek to hire candidates with strong analytic and communication skills, who can think creatively about problems, work in collaborative environments, and leverage diversity to maximize success for their organizations and employees.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Identify and explain key concepts in Sociology;
  • Apply key concepts in Sociology to real world examples;
  • Identify and explain major theoretical perspectives in Sociology;
  • Analyze social phenomena using theoretical perspectives;
  • Apply a Sociological Imagination to social issues;
  • Identify and explain the causes and consequences of social inequalities;
  • Compare and contrast societies based on social structure, institutions and culture; and
  • Identify and describe the research methods used in Sociology.

Transfer Opportunities

The Sociology Transfer Pathway A.A. Degree offers students a powerful option: the opportunity to complete an Associate of Arts degree with course credits that directly transfer to designated Sociology bachelor’s degree programs at Minnesota State universities. The curriculum has been specifically designed so students completing this pathway degree and transferring to a Minnesota State university may enter with junior-year status. Courses in the Sociology Transfer Pathway associates degree will directly transfer and apply to the designated bachelor’s degree programs. Students should consult with an advisor for guidance regarding how to best meet the requirements of their intended baccalaureate program. Universities within the Minnesota State system participating in the Sociology Transfer Pathway include:
• Bemidji State University – BA
• Metropolitan State University – BAS
• Minnesota State University, Mankato – BA/BS
• Minnesota State University, Moorhead – BA
• Southwest State University, BA
• St. Cloud State University – BA
• Winona State University – BA

Graduation Requirements

In addition to the program requirements, students must meet the following conditions in order to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement: cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0;
  2. Residency Requirement: students must complete 25% of their credits at Central Lakes College.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

outside brainerd campus

Program Course Requirements

Required Discipline Courses (9 credits)

SOCL 1401      Introduction to Sociology (Goals 2,5) OR
SOCL 1403*    Honors Intro to Sociology (Goals 5,8)………. 3 cr
SOCL 1472      Sociology of the Family (Goal 5) OR
SOCL 2405      Criminology (Goal 5)………………………………… 3 cr
SOCL 2481      Race, Ethnicity and Oppression (Goals 5,7) OR
SOCL 2411      Social Problems (Goals 5,9)……………………… 3 cr

Required MnTC Courses (42 credits)

COMM course (Goal 1)……………………………………………………. 3 cr

ENGL 1410      Composition I (Goal 1) OR
ENGL 1420*    Honors Composition I (Goal 1)…………………. 4 cr
ENGL 1411*    Composition II (Goal 1) OR
ENGL 1421*    Honors Composition II (Goals 1,9)…………… 4 cr
MATH 1460*  Introduction to Statistics (Goal 4) OR
MATH 1461*  Honors Intro to Statistics (Goals 2,4)……….. 4 cr

Goal 3 courses** (2 disciplines required, 3 recommended,

must include one Goal 3 lab course)……………………………… 6 cr

Goal 5 course** (any discipline other than Sociology)…… 3 cr

Goal 6 courses** (2 disciplines required, 3 recommended) 9 cr

Goal 7 course**………………………………………………………………. 3 cr

Goal 8 course**………………………………………………………………. 3 cr

Goal 9 course**………………………………………………………………. 3 cr

Fitness for Life (2 credits)

HLTH or PHED Fitness for Life course……………………………… 2 cr

Student Success (1 credit)

CCST 1550       Introduction to College (recommended)……. 1 cr

Electives (6 credits)

Electives as needed to total 60 credits** ………………………. 6 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 60 CREDITS
*Denotes Prerequisites

**Many courses from Goals 1 – 6 also meet Goal 7 – 10. Credits count only once. Students are advised to select MnTC courses with multiple goal assignments whenever possible.

 

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X