Music Associate of Fine Arts Degree

Music Associate of Fine Arts Degree

Career Description

Students will be able to pursue careers in Music Education, Music Technology, Music Liturgy, Music Performance, Music Industry/Media/Production and other careers as well minor in music.

Program Information

This Associate of Fine Arts Music Degree endows students with a foundation of music theory, history, technology, education, large and chamber ensembles experience, applied major lessons and class piano for achieving transfer and success at an upper level academic institution in the field of music.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Demonstrate, through concentrated study of a primary instrument (or voice), artistry, technical ability, improvisation skills, and knowledge of repertoire representative of that instrument/voice;
  • Participate effectively as part of a large and chamber performance ensemble;
  • Demonstrate knowledge of music theory and notation;
  • Demonstrate knowledge of music history in the Western art tradition;
  • Understanding of the cultural and historical development of music;
  • Demonstrate facility in ear training and sight-singing skills;
  • Working knowledge of the role of technology in the musical arts;
  • Demonstrate proficiency in keyboard skills; and
  • Be prepared to transfer to and succeed at an upper level academic institution in the field of music.

Special Program Requirements

In addition to the program requirements, students must meet the following conditions in order to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement: cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0;
  2. Residency Requirement: students must complete 25% of their credits at Central Lakes College.

Admissions

The recommendation from a secondary school music instructor with the exception of transfer students and extenuating circumstances.

Transfer Opportunities

This A.F.A. degree transfers via an articulation to Bemidji State University and the College of St. Scholastica. Students will be able to pursue careers in Music Education, Music Technology, Music Liturgy, Music Performance, Music Industry/Media/Production and other careers, as well as minor in music.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

jazz band

Program Course Requirements

Semester 1 (16 credits)
ENGL 1410 Composition I OR ENGL 1420* Honors Composition I (Goal 1), 4 cr
Choose one applied music course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1464 Applied Music Lessons – Brass OR
     MUSC 1468 Applied Music Lessons – Strings OR
     MUSC 1475 Applied Music Lessons – Woodwinds OR
MUSC 1477 Applied Music Lessons – Bass Guitar OR
 MUSC 1481 Applied Music Lessons – Piano OR
     MUSC 1485 Applied Music Lessons – Percussion OR
      MUSC 1491 Applied Music Lessons – Voice
Choose one major performance ensemble course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1407 Raider Concert Wind Symphony OR
     MUSC 1408 Central Lakes Wind Symphony OR
     MUSC 1420 String Orchestra OR
     MUSC 1431 CLC Choir
Choose one major chamber ensemble course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1404 Raider Jazz Collective OR
MUSC 1405 Central Lakes Jazz Orchestra OR
     MUSC 1415 Brass Ensemble OR
     MUSC 1418 Woodwind Ensemble OR
     MUSC 1419 Percussion Ensemble OR
MUSC 1421 Contaré Concert Chorale
MUSC 1459 Musicology (Goal 6), 3 cr
MUSC 1560 Performance Laboratory, 0 cr
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum courses, 6 cr

Semester 2 (17 credits)
ENGL 1411 Composition II OR ENGL 1421* Honors Composition II (Goal 1), 4 cr
Choose one applied music course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1464 Applied Music Lessons – Brass OR
     MUSC 1468 Applied Music Lessons – Strings OR
     MUSC 1475 Applied Music Lessons – Woodwinds OR
MUSC 1477 Applied Music Lessons – Bass Guitar OR
 MUSC 1481 Applied Music Lessons – Piano OR
     MUSC 1485 Applied Music Lessons – Percussion OR
      MUSC 1491 Applied Music Lessons – Voice
Choose one major performance ensemble course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1408 Central Lakes Wind Symphony OR
     MUSC 1420 String Orchestra OR
     MUSC 1431 CLC Choir
MUSC 1560 Performance Laboratory, 0 cr
MUSC 2410 Music and World Cultures (Goals 6,8), 3 cr
MUSC 2511* Music Theory and Musicianship I Written, 2 cr
MUSC 2512 *Music Theory and Musicianship I Aural, 3 cr
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum courses, 3 cr

Semester 3 (16 credits)
COMM 2420 Intercultural Communication OR COMM 2422* Honors Intercultural Communication (Goals 1,7) 3 cr
Choose one applied music course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1464 Applied Music Lessons – Brass OR
     MUSC 1468 Applied Music Lessons – Strings OR
     MUSC 1475 Applied Music Lessons – Woodwinds OR
MUSC 1477 Applied Music Lessons – Bass Guitar OR
 MUSC 1481 Applied Music Lessons – Piano OR
     MUSC 1485 Applied Music Lessons – Percussion OR
      MUSC 1491 Applied Music Lessons – Voice
Choose one major performance ensemble course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1408 Central Lakes Wind Symphony OR
     MUSC 1420 String Orchestra OR
     MUSC 1431 CLC Choir
Choose one major chamber ensemble course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1405 Central Lakes Jazz Orchestra OR
     MUSC 1415 Brass Ensemble OR
     MUSC 1418 Woodwind Ensemble OR
     MUSC 1419 Percussion Ensemble OR
MUSC 1421 Contaré Concert Chorale
MUSC 1560 Performance Laboratory, 0 cr
MUSC 2413 Audio Production/Introduction to Pro Tools (Goal 6), 3 cr
MUSC 2594* Music Theory and Musicianship II Aural, 2 cr
MUSC 2595* Music Theory and Musicianship II Written, 3 cr
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum courses, 2 cr

Semester 4 (16 credits)
Choose one applied music course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1464 Applied Music Lessons – Brass OR
     MUSC 1468 Applied Music Lessons – Strings OR
     MUSC 1476 Applied Music Lessons – Woodwinds OR
MUSC 1477 Applied Music Lessons – Bass Guitar OR
 MUSC 1481 Applied Music Lessons – Piano OR
     MUSC 1485 Applied Music Lessons – Percussion OR
      MUSC 1491 Applied Music Lessons – Voice
Choose one major performance ensemble course (Goal 6), 1 cr
MUSC 1408 Central Lakes Wind Symphony OR
     MUSC 1420 String Orchestra OR
     MUSC 1431 CLC Choir
MUSC 1560 Performance Laboratory, 0 cr
MUSC 2450 Literature and History of Music I (Goal 6), 3 cr
MUSC 2518* Piano Fundamentals/Proficiency, 1 cr
MUSC 2520 Music Education: I Introduction, 2 cr
Goal 4 course, 3-4 cr
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum courses, 4-5 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 65 CREDITS
*Denotes Prerequisites

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X