Human Services A.A.S. Degree

Human Services A.A.S. Degree

Career Description

Graduates will be prepared for careers in the community and social welfare agencies, mental health and social service agencies, community organizations, habilitation and rehabilitation agencies, day care centers and nursery schools, elementary and secondary schools, and geriatric services. Graduates may work in positions such as: Caseworker, Geriatric Service Worker, Youth Organizer, Community Coordinator, Domestic or Sexual Abuse Advocate, Family Support Worker, Events Volunteer Specialist, Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist, Hospital Patient Advocate, Education and Outreach Specialist, Social Services Assistant, Supervised Safe Exchange Worker, Mental Health Behavior Aide, Personal Home Care Aide.

Program Information

The Human Services program prepares graduates to assist professionals in all kinds of positions where people help people. These include community and social welfare agencies, mental health and social service agencies, community organizations, habilitation and rehabilitation agencies, day care centers and nursery schools, elementary and secondary schools, and geriatric services. The program prepares graduates to provide culturally aware and competent care for clients. Prospective students should be aware that a Minnesota Human Services background study with no restrictions will be required for internships and employment.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Identify and apply skills and attitudes that demonstrate cultural competence;
  • Effectively utilize a sequence of human services skills and processes;
  • Demonstrate interventions with a focus on client empowerment and advocacy applied through a skills approach;
  • Demonstrate skills to help, empower, and advocate;
  • Structure and facilitate effective group sessions/interactions;
  • Recognize the contextual relationships within which individuals and organizations function; and
  • Demonstrate skills of social awareness and regulation, personal self-management, and teamwork.

Special Program Requirements

In addition to the program requirements, students must meet the following conditions in order to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement: cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0;
  2. College Technical Core GPA Requirement: cumulative GPA of credits attempted and completed towards the technical core of the diploma or degree must be at least 2.0;
  3. Residency Requirement: students must complete 25% of their credits at Central Lakes College.

Admissions

A Minnesota Human Services background study with no restrictions will be required for the internship course and employment.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Elderly hands helping

Program Course Requirements

Semester One (14 credits)
ENGL 1422 Practical Writing (Goals 1,2), 3 cr
HSER 1102 Introduction to Human Services, Social Work, and Career Assessments, 4 cr
HSER 1104 Supportive Interventions, 4 cr
HSER 2100 Introduction to Case Management, 3 cr

Semester Two (16 credits)
HSER 1110 Fundamentals of Engagement and Interviewing Skills, 3 cr
HSER 1112 Multicultural Dimensions of Human Services, 3 cr
HSER 1114 Understanding and Promoting Systems Change, 3 cr
PSYC 2421 General Psychology or PSYC 2423 Honors General Psychology (Goals 2,5), 4 cr
SOCL 1401 Introduction to Sociology (Goals 2,5) or SOCL 1403 Honors Intro to Sociology (Goals 5,8), 3 cr

Semester Three (16 credits)
COMM 1420 Interpersonal Communication or COMM 1422 Honors Interpersonal Communication (Goal 1), 3 cr
HLTH 1507 Drug Awareness, 3 cr
HSER 2102 Crisis Intervention and Trauma Informed Care, 3 cr
HSER 2104 Internship Assessment and Preparation, 1 cr
HSER 1116 Ethics and Professionalism, 3 cr
HSER 2106 Human Services and Mental Health, 3 cr

Semester Four (14 credits)
COMM 2420 Intercultural Communication or COMM 2420 Honors Intercultural Communication (Goals 1,7), 3 cr
HSER 2110 Introduction to Group Dynamics and Skills, 3 cr
HSER 2112 Internship Seminar, 1 cr
HSER 2155 Internship, 4 cr
SOCL 2481 Race, Ethnicity, and Oppression (Goals 5,7), 3 cr

GRADUATION REQUREMENT – 60 CREDITS
*Denotes Prerequisites

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X