History Transfer Pathway A.A. Degree

History Transfer Pathway A.A. Degree

Program Information

History is the study of people outside of our contemporary context. History provides our frame of reference and gives us invaluable perspective on how we arrived in our present circumstance. The History Transfer Pathway provides a broad base of general education relevant to history oriented careers, and prepares students for transfer into a History baccalaureate degree at Minnesota State universities. A bachelor’s degree in history will open doors into a number of career fields including teaching, law, historical preservation, museums, consulting, and editing publishing. It may also be a step to advanced degrees in many fields.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Demonstrate a broad understanding of U.S. and World History;
  • Make use of historical thinking;
  • Analyze historical sources, distinguishing primary from secondary sources;
  • Communicate effectively using historical evidence and methods; and
  • Analyze and understand the diversity of peoples within their distinctive historical contexts.

Special Program Requirements

  • These requirements apply to new students, and students who have been absent from this college one academic year or longer.
  • At least one semester before you plan to graduate, complete an Application to Graduate.
  • Student must obtain a grade of “C” or higher in each of the four required (12 credits) Communications courses.
  • A total of 60 college level credits with a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher are required for an Associate of Arts Degree.
  • A cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher in all Minnesota Transfer Curriculum courses is required to complete the MnTC.
  • 15 credits must be earned at Central Lakes College to be eligible for an Associate of Arts Degree.
  • Classes may meet requirements for more than one goal area, but credit will not be awarded for any course twice.

Transfer Opportunities

The History Transfer Pathway A.A. Degree offers students a powerful option: the opportunity to complete an Associate of Arts degree with course credits that directly transfer to designated History bachelor’s degree programs at Minnesota State universities. The curriculum has been specifically designed so students completing this pathway degree and transferring to a Minnesota State university may enter with junior-year status. Courses in the History Transfer Pathway associates degree will directly transfer and apply to the designated bachelor’s degree programs. Students should consult with an advisor for guidance regarding how to best meet the requirements of their intended baccalaureate program. Universities within the Minnesota State system participating in the History Transfer Pathway include: • Bemidji State University – BA, BS • Metropolitan State University – BA • Minnesota State University, Mankato – BA, BS • Minnesota State University, Moorhead – BA • Southwest State University, BA • St. Cloud State University – BA • Winona State University – BA

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

stack of vintage books on the table

Sample Full-Time Pathway

Semester 1 (14-15 credits)
CCST 1550 Introduction to College (recommended) or another Student Success course, 1 cr
ENGL 1410 Composition I OR ENGL 1420* Honors Composition I (Goal 1), 4 cr
HIST 1472 United States History to 1865 (Goals 5,7), 3 cr
Goal 3 w/lab course (Goals 3,10), 3-4 cr
Goal 6 course, 3 cr

Semester 2 (16 credits)
COMM any 14XX or 24XX COMM Goal 1 course, 3 cr
ENGL 1411* Composition II (Goal 1) OR ENGL 1421* Honors Composition II (Goals 1,9), 4 cr
HIST 1473 U.S. History since 1865 OR HIST 1475 Honors U.S. History 1865 to Present (Goals 5,7), 3 cr
Goal 5 course (any discipline other than History), 3 cr
Electives, 3 cr

Semester 3 (14-15 credits)
HIST 1412  World History I, From the Beginning to 1500 (Goals 5,8), 3 cr
MATH 1460 Intro to Statistics (Goal 4, recommended), 4 cr OR MATH 1461 Honors Intro to Statistics, 4 cr OR MATH 1470 College Algebra (Goal 4), 3 cr
Goal 6 course, 3 cr
Electives, 4-6 cr

Semester 4 (15 credits)
HIST 1413 World History II, 1500 to present (Goals 5,8), 3 cr
Goal 3 course, 3 cr
Goal 9 course, 3 cr
HLTH or PHED Fitness for Life course, 2-3 cr
Electives, 3-4 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 60 CREDITS

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X