22.214.171.124 Payment Plan and Late Fees Procedure
Part 1. Purpose.
To align CLC college procedures with MINNSTATE Board Procedure 5.11.1, Part 4, subpart D, which states “Colleges and universities shall establish a policy to charge a fee for late payment of tuition and/or fees. A late fee may also be charged for late payment under an approved payment plan. The policy may provide for specific situations wherein the president of the college or university may waive this fee. Documentation concerning waivers must be retained and made available upon request. Consistent with Minnesota Statutes §197.775, students who are eligible and have applied for but not yet received veterans’ benefits are exempt from being charged a late fee.”
Colleges and universities shall establish a policy to charge a fee for payment plans. This fee shall allow students to pay their tuition and fees over the course of the semester.
Mandatory Fees Amount
- Payment Plan Fee Maximum $30 per term
- Late Fee Maximum $50 per term
Part 2. Description.
Nelnet Payment Plan: Central Lakes College offers Nelnet as a convenient budget plan. The cost to budget an interest-free monthly payment plan is a $24 per semester, non-refundable enrollment fee. Tuition, fees and books may be included in the plan. Payments are made through an automatic withdrawal from either a checking, savings, or credit card account. Payments are processed on the 5th or 20th of each month. Additional information is available at http://www.clcmn.edu/businessoffice/.
CLC Payment Plan: Student accounts with a balance due greater than $200 and not enrolled in a Nelnet payment plan, by the 25th day of the term are past due, are considered to be on the CLC internal payment plan and are charged a $30 payment plan fee. After the fee is applied, students have until the last day of the term to pay their account in full.
Unpaid Balances and Late Fees
An Unpaid Balance Hold is applied to all accounts with an open balance on the 25th day of the term. This hold prevents registration for additional courses at any MINNSTATE college or university. Payment in full is required before you may register for subsequent courses and before the hold is removed.
Accounts with a balance due greater than $200 and not enrolled in a Nelnet payment plan by the last day of the term are charged a $50 late fee. After the late fee is applied, students will have three weeks to pay their balance in full or set-up a Nelnet payment plan before being referred to Minnesota Department of Revenue for collections. After referral, additional collection fees are applied, by Minnesota Department of Revenue, to the past due account.
Date of implementation/Presidential Approval: 7/1/2016
Date of last review: 1/28/2021