Biology Transfer Pathway A.S. Degree

Biology Transfer Pathway A.S. Degree

Program Description

Biology is the science of life and living organisms. CLC’s Biology Transfer Pathway Associate of Science (A.S.) Degree is designed for students interested in various fields of biological science, including cell biology, bioengineering, environmental science, fish and wildlife management, forestry, genetics and microbiology. It also is excellent preparation for students interested in a pre-professional transfer program for a medical profession. Students will develop laboratory skills, techniques, and procedures allowing them to gather, organize, and analyze data. The CLC Biology Transfer Pathway A.S. Degree allows students to take the first two years of a biology degree at CLC and then transfer to a Minnesota State university as a junior to complete the degree.

Program Outcomes

By completing this program, students will achieve the following learning outcomes:

  • Propose testable hypotheses and carry out experiments to test them, relying on standardized international systems of measurement;
  • Analyze simple data sets using appropriate descriptive and inferential statistics;
  • Use public literature databases to find appropriate published material, and should be able to read, understand, and evaluate the validity and importance of the scientific literature and to integrate new concepts into their existing knowledge frameworks;
  • Communicate their own and others’ data and analyses in oral and written formats, using computers where necessary to visualize data or to create clear and compelling papers, posters, or presentations;
  • Analyze scientific studies in light of their ecological, social, economic, ethical, and cultural implications;
  • Communicate and work productively with others in designing, conducting, and evaluating projects, experiments, and other course related deliverables as an essential skill in science;
  • Utilize other disciplines as sources of context and skills to inform the learning and work they are engaged in; and
  • Demonstrate skill development in basic light microscopy and exposure to more advanced forms of microscopy and digital imaging.

Transfer Opportunities

The Biology Transfer Pathway A.S. Degree offers students a powerful option: the opportunity to complete an Associate of Science degree with course credits that directly transfer to designated Biology bachelor’s degree programs at Minnesota State universities. The curriculum has been specifically designed so students completing this pathway degree and transferring to a Minnesota State university may enter with junior-year status. Courses in the Biology Transfer Pathway associates degree will directly transfer and apply to the designated bachelor’s degree programs. Students should consult with an advisor for guidance regarding how to best meet the requirements of their intended baccalaureate program. Universities within the Minnesota State system participating in the Biology Transfer Pathway include:

  • Bemidji State University – BA, BS
  • Metropolitan State University – BA
  • Minnesota State University, Mankato – BS
  • Minnesota State University, Moorhead – BA
  • Southwest Minnesota State University, BA
  • Cloud State University – BS
  • Winona State University – BS

Graduation Requirements

In addition to the program requirements, students must meet the following conditions in order to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement: cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0;
  2. Residency Requirement: students must complete 25% of their credits at Central Lakes College.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Program Course Requirements

Required Discipline Courses (28 credits)

BIOL 1431       General Biology I (Goal 3)………………………… 5 cr
BIOL 1432       General Biology II (Goal 3)……………………….. 5 cr
BIOL 2420*     Genetics (Goal 3)……………………………………… 4 cr
CHEM 1424*  Chemical Principles I (Goal 3)…………………… 5 cr
CHEM 1425*  Chemical Principles II (Goal 3)………………….. 5 cr

Choose one of the following courses based on transfer university destination and desired biology track:

BIOL 2415       General Ecology (Goals 3,10) OR
BIOL 2457       Microbiology (Goal 3)………………………………. 4 cr

Required MnTC Courses (16 credits)

An associate of science degree requires a minimum of 30 credits selected from at least 6 of the 10 goal areas of the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum (MnTC).

COMM 1420   Interpersonal Communication (Goal 1) OR
COMM 1422* Honors Interpersonal Comm (Goal 1) OR
COMM 1430   Public Speaking (Goals 1,2) OR
COMM 2420   Intercultural Communication (Goals 1,7) OR
COMM 2422* Honors Intercultural Comm (Goals 1,7)…… 3 cr
ENGL 1410      Composition I (Goal 1) OR
ENGL 1420*    Honors Composition I (Goal 1)…………………. 4 cr
MATH 1470    College Algebra (Goal 4)………………………….. 3 cr

Goal 5** course………………………………………………………………. 3 cr

Goal 6** course………………………………………………………………. 3 cr

Recommended Electives (16 credits)

The following courses are suggestions for useful elective courses within the sciences. Course selections should be tailored to specific major track and transfer university.

BIOL 1415       Environmental Biology (Goals 3,10)…………. 4 cr
BIOL 2467*     Anatomy and Physiology I (Goal 3)………….. 4 cr
BIOL 2468*     Anatomy and Physiology II (Goal 3)…………. 4 cr
CHEM 1410     Environmental Chemistry (Goals 3,10)…….. 3 cr
CHEM 2472*  Organic Chemistry I (Goal 3)……………………. 5 cr
CHEM 2473*  Organic Chemistry II (Goal 3)…………………… 5 cr
ESCI 1454        Planet Earth (Goals 3,10) OR
ESCI 1455        Honors Planet Earth (Goals 3,10)…………….. 4 cr
GEOG 1430     Introduction to Geographic Information Systems (Goals 2,5)………………………………………………………… 3 cr
MATH 1460*  Introduction to Statistics (Goal 4) OR
MATH 1461*  Honors Intro to Statistics (Goals 2,4)……….. 4 cr
MATH 1472*  Precalculus (Goal 4)…………………………………. 5 cr
MATH 1477*  Calculus I (Goal 4) OR
MATH 1480*  Honors Calculus I (Goal 4)………………………… 5 cr
PHYS 1401*    College Physics I (Goal 3)…………………………. 4 cr
PHYS 1402*    College Physics II (Goal 3)………………………… 4 cr

 

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 60 CREDITS
*Denotes Prerequisites

**Many courses from Goals 1 – 6 also meet Goal 7 – 10. Credits count only once. Students are advised to select MnTC courses with multiple goal assignments whenever possible

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X