Art Transfer Pathway A.F.A. Degree

Art Transfer Pathway A.F.A. Degree

Career Description

A bachelor’s degree in Art may lead to potential career opportunities in art education, gallery or museum curation, graphic design, game design, industrial design, interior design, and many other skilled positions. Many graduates completing a bachelor’s degree in Art are encouraged to attend graduate school to continue their development, eventually becoming self-employed studio artists.

Program Information

The Art Transfer Pathway A.F.A. Degree serves students planning to pursue a baccalaureate degree with a major in Studio Art or Art Education. Students will develop the skills necessary to produce art and experience the creative decision making process, enabling students to develop individual excellence in their work. Through art history classes, students will develop an understanding of the unfolding of the arts through time and contributions made through art to the larger culture.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Comprehend and create two-dimensional and three-dimensional works of art;
  • Create and comprehend digital images;
  • Explain visual elements common to all facets of art history and relate this to the current era;
  • Demonstrate an appreciation of art;
  • Demonstrate skills in ceramic art construction; and
  • Demonstrate an increased appreciation of the vital role and value that the fine arts and humanities have on the development of culture.

Special Program Requirements

In addition to the program requirements, students must meet the following conditions in order to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement: cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0;
  2. Residency Requirement: students must complete 25% of their credits at Central Lakes College.

Transfer Opportunities

The Art Transfer Pathway A.F.A. Degree offers students a powerful option: the opportunity to complete an Associate of Fine Arts degree with course credits that directly transfer to designated Art bachelor’s degree programs at Minnesota State universities. The curriculum has been specifically designed so students completing this pathway degree and transferring to a Minnesota State university may enter with junior-year status. Courses in the Art Transfer Pathway degree will directly transfer and apply to the designated bachelor’s degree programs. Students should consult with an advisor for guidance regarding how to best meet the requirements of their intended baccalaureate program. Universities within the Minnesota State system participating in the Art Transfer Pathway include: • Metropolitan State University – BA • Minnesota State University, Mankato – BA, BFA • Minnesota State University, Moorhead – BA • Southwest Minnesota State University, BA • St. Cloud State University – BFA

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Program Course Requirements

Fall Semester – 1st Year (13 credits)
ARTS 1458 Introduction to Drawing (Goal 6), 3 cr
ARTS 1459 2-D Design (Goal 6), 3 cr
ENGL 1410 Composition I OR ENGL 1420 Honors Composition I (Goal 1), 4 cr
Additional Studio Art Course (Goal 6), 3 cr

Spring Semester – 1st Year (16 credits)
ARTS 1461 3-D Design (Goal 6), 3 cr
ARTS 2411 Introduction to Digital Imaging (Goal 6), 3 cr
ARTS 2486 Art History/Ancient (Goal 6), 3 cr
Additional studio art course, 3 cr
ENGL 1411* Composition II (Goal 1) OR ENGL 1421* Honors Composition II (Goals 1 and 9), 4 cr

Fall Semester – 2nd Year (15 credits)
Additional 3-D design or 2-D design course, 3 cr
Additional 3-D design or 2-D design course, 3 cr
COMM 1420 Intercultural Communication (Goals 1 and 7), 3 cr
Additional MnTC course(s), 6 cr

Spring Semester – 2nd Year (16 credits)
Additional 3-D design or 2-D design course, 3 cr
Additional 3-D design or 2-D design course, 3 cr
ARTS 2487 Art History/Modern (Goal 6), 3 cr
Additional MnTC course(s), 7 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 60 credits
*Denotes Prerequisite

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X