Trained Medication Aid Certificate

Trained Medication Aid Certificate

Career Description

A Trained Medication Aid works under the direction of a Registered Nurse to administer medications to residents in long-term care facilities.

Program Information

The Trained Medication Aide Certificate will prepare students for employment in long-term care and assistive living facilities. Skills are demonstrated in a supervised laboratory setting. This certificate prepares students to safely administer medication, become knowledgeable in healthcare terminology, and understand the stages of development across a life span. Certificate requirements allow the student to have completed course work towards the Practical Nursing Diploma Program.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Demonstrate safe medication administration practices;
  • Demonstrate knowledge of medication terminology and abbreviations;
  • Demonstrate knowledge of medication classifications, actions in the body, and safe patient monitoring;
  • Demonstrate competency in skills to administer medications within the scope of a Trained Medication Aid;
  • Demonstrate knowledge in growth and development through the stage of the human life span; and
  • Demonstrate effective verbal and non-verbal communication skills with patients and the healthcare team.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Program Course Requirements

PNUR 1134 Pharmacology, 1 cr
PNUR 1125 Medication Administration Skills Lab, 1 cr
PNUR 1130 Life Span, 1 cr
PNUR 1138 Medical Terminology, 1 cr
PNUR 1140 Medication Calculations for Healthcare Professionals, 1 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS – 5 credits

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X