Pre-Social Work Transfer Pathway A.S. Degree

Pre-Social Work Transfer Pathway A.S. Degree

Department Description

The Pre-Social Work Pathway AS provides students with the option to complete an AS degree with course credits that directly transfer to designated Social Work bachelor’s degree programs at Minnesota State universities. The curriculum will allow students to complete a pathway degree and transfer to one of the seven Minnesota State universities with junior-year status. All courses within the Pre-Social Work Transfer Pathway associates degree will directly transfer and apply to the designated bachelor’s degree programs.

Career Description

Social work is an appropriate background for the professional practice of social welfare administration and counseling, with focus on the study of organized means of providing basic support services for vulnerable individuals and groups. Social workers have varied career paths and often work in settings such as hospitals, schools, outpatient and inpatient mental health facilities, education and substance abuse programs. Career titles may include: Child, Family, and School Social Workers, College Social Work Teachers, Health Care Social Workers, Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers, Probation Officers, and Correctional Treatment Specialists.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Demonstrate understanding and knowledge of humans and their environment, genetics, and evolution;
  • Interpret and analyze data and sample populations;
  • Examine and analyze the complexity of the structures and dynamics of society;
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the principles of psychology, as well as the ethical issues involved in the student of behavior and mental processes;
  • Demonstrate an understanding of physical, cognitive, and social-emotional development in infancy, early childhood, childhood, adolescence, early adulthood, midlife, and late adulthood;
  • Articulate an understanding how diversity and difference characterize and shape the human experience; and
  • Demonstrate knowledge and understanding of social welfare as a global social institution linked to the workings of other institutions and shaped by the intersection of politics, economics, social circumstances and value systems which impact different people in different ways.

Transfer Opportunities

The Pre-social Work Pathway AS curriculum has been designed to transfer directly to social work major programs at the following universities within Minnesota State. It is advised that students contact the transfer institution(s) for the most current information. • Bemidji State University: BSW Social Work • Metropolitan State University: BSW Social Work • Minnesota State University, Mankato: BS Social Work • Minnesota State University, Moorhead: BSW Social Work • Southwest Minnesota State University: BSSW Social Work • St. Cloud State University: BS Social Work • Winona State University: BSW Social Work

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

outside brainerd campus

Program Course Requirements

Pre-Social Work Transfer Pathway A.S. Degree
Sample Full-Time Pathway

Semester One (14 credits)
ENGL 1410 Composition I (Goal 1)  OR  ENGL 1420* Honors Composition I (Goal 1), 4 cr
HSER 1100 Introduction to Social Work, 3 cr
POLS 1435 American Government and Politics (Goals 5,9), 3 cr
PSYC 2421 General Psychology (Goals 2,5)  OR  PSYC 2423* Honors General Psychology (Goals 2,5), 4 cr

Semester Two (16 credits)
AMSL 2420 Deaf Culture, 3 cr
ENGL 1411* Composition II (Goal 1) OR  ENGL 1421* Honors Composition II (Goal 1), 4 cr
PSYC 2431* Human Development (Goal 5), 3 cr
SOCL 1401 Introduction to Sociology (Goals 2,5) OR  SOCL 1403* Honors Intro to Sociology (Goals 5,8), 3 cr
Select any Human Services (HSER) course, 3 cr

Semester Three (14 credits)
BIOL 1404 Human Biology (Goal 3), 3 cr
COMM 1420 Interpersonal Communication (Goal 1)  OR  COMM 1422* Honors Interpersonal Comm (Goal 1) OR
COMM 2420 Intercultural Communication (Goals 1,7)  OR  COMM 2422* Honors Intercultural Comm (Goals 1,7)3 cr
MATH 1460 Introduction to Statistics (Goal 4)  OR  MATH 1461* Honors Intro to Statistics (Goals 2,4) 4 cr
Select any Human Services (HSER) course, 4 cr

Semester Four (16 credits)

ENGL 1450 Introduction to Humanities (Goals 6,8)  OR  PHIL 1411 World Religions (Goals 6,8), 3 cr
ESCI 1444 Natural Disasters (Goals 3,10), 3 cr
HSER 2150 Field Experience, 4 cr
SOCL 2481 Race, Ethnicity, and Oppression (Goals 5,7), 3 cr
Additional Goal 6 course, 3 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 60 credits
*
Denotes Prerequisite

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X