Occupational Skills Diploma

Occupational Skills Diploma

Career Description

The Occupational Skills Program offers work-based training and classroom instruction for persons with disabilities with the outcome of competitive entry-level employment. Students actively participate with opportunities in the workplace through our Supervised Pre-Internship experiences. Classroom course work offers career exploration and experience to increase employability skills for the entry-level work. Experiences in the program also promote social, physical and emotional growth in the college setting.

Program Information

The Occupational Skills Program (OSP) is a nine-month certified Comprehensive Transition Program (CTP). Upon successful completion of the program, students earn a diploma. The program is designed for individuals with intellectual disabilities, focusing on competitive entry-level employment and transition skills needed to live independently. The program is geared toward individuals who can possess the ability to work competitive entry-level employment with training and support. Work experiences, as well as coursework are provided to give real life, hands on experiences in the workplace and the community. Some students use OSP as a transition year before moving on to other college programs. Students also participate in a number of exciting and educational experiences designed to promote community access, social skills, recreation and healthy living.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Demonstrate transition skills for independent living;
  • Communicate with supervisors and peers;
  • Maintain employment in supervised settings;
  • Follow specified procedures and timelines;
  • Exhibit self-advocacy skills in personal and work settings; and
  • Set appropriate short term and long-term goals.

Special Program Requirements

In addition to the program requirements, students must meet the following conditions in order to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement: cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0;
  2. College Technical Core GPA Requirement: cumulative GPA of credits attempted and completed towards the technical core of the diploma or degree must be at least 2.0;
  3. Residency Requirement: students must complete 25% of their credits at Central Lakes College.

Admissions

Students in Occupational Skills have documented disabilities and the ability to compete for entry-level job positions. All services required for independent living are secured by the student and family before the start of Fall Semester. Students may apply beginning on September 1st, the year preceding attendance in the program. Student interviews for applicants meeting program criteria begin in January. Interviews and acceptance of students are completed from January to April with new students attending orientation in late spring.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Other Resources

Housing at Central Lakes College
https://www.clcparkwayapts.com/

Schedule a tour
http://www.clcmn.edu/admissions/visit-the-college/

Program Course Requirements

Fall Semester (17 credits)
COMP 1103 Computer Basics I, 1 cr
OSKL 1142  Communication I, 3 cr
OSKL 1144  Critical Reasoning Skills I, 4 cr
OSKL 1148  Employability Skills I, 3 cr
OSKL 1154  Supervised Pre-Internship I, 4 cr
OSKL 1162  Study Skills I, 1 cr
Elective, 1 cr

Spring Semester (17 credits)
COMP 1104 Computer Basics II, 1 cr
OSKL 1146  Critical Reasoning Skills II, 3 cr
OSKL 1150  Employability Skills II, 4 cr
OSKL 1156  Supervised Pre-Internship I, 4 cr
OSKL 1164  Study Skills II, 1 cr
OSKL 1166  Communication II, 3 cr
Elective, 1 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 34 CREDITS

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X