Physical Education

Physical Education

Department Description: Today’s students will represent the first generation ever to have a lifespan shorter than that of their parents, unless current diet and exercise habits change. So says the President’s Council on Physical Fitness and Sports. Courses in Physical Education provide co-educational opportunities to advance one’s fitness as well as acquire knowledge and skills associated with athletics, athleticism, and team sports. The schedule endeavors to afford students season-oriented activities that are able to make use of facilities and outdoor environments, from weight rooms and dance floors to our area’s magnificent golf courses and cross-country ski trails. Varsity sports, which earn the participant one credit per season, provide intercollegiate athletic competition as a higher education platform to further one’s competitive abilities and, in some cases, pursuit of professional athletic status.

Department Learning Outcomes:

  • Demonstrate understanding of how to improve their own level of fitness.
  • Demonstrate understanding of the health benefits of exercise.
  • Demonstrate skills related to the practice of a sport/activity.

Special Department Information: Entrance to any of the college’s intercollegiate athletics programs requires passage of a physical examination.

Select this link to view a complete listing of Physical Education course offerings.

Career Opportunities: Some graduates from the two-year college continue studies as undergraduates in Physical Education degree programs of universities. They become professional athletes, athletic trainers, sports officials, administrators, adaptive PE instructors and coaches, sports facility managers, and certified fitness trainers. Median wage for athletic trainers is $32,990 per year, for coaches and scouts: $26,740 per year. College and professional coaches usually have a bachelor’s degree, and some have a master’s degree. In addition, most have many years of experience playing and then coaching their sport. Most have worked their way up through the coaching ranks.

Career Titles: Personal Trainer, Corporate Fitness Instructor, Activities Director, Nutrition Specialist, Cardiovascular Fitness Instructor, Cruise Recreation Director, Health/Fitness Consultant, Occupation Exercise Scientist, Camp Director, Professional Sports Umpire, Professional Sports Scout, Spa/Health Club Manager

Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Call Now
X
X