Graphic Design Media Technologies Diploma

Graphic Design Media Technologies Diploma

Graphic Design students are required to purchase an Apple laptop with the Adobe Creative Cloud software. See the latest requirement through the bookstore website.

Career Description

A graphic designer is a creative problem solver who is trained to conceive, plan, and execute a design that communicates a direct message to an audience in an imaginative and visually arresting manner. Effective visual communication requires a graphic designer to communicate ideas and information in ways that will get the attention of, and motivate, a viewer. Ideas are generated through a design process in which graphic designers research, organize, and interpret the information; define the objectives; originate ideas; and create new visual forms. New and constantly evolving computer and communication technologies further challenge the role of the graphic designer in creating imaginative and clear messages for vastly different audiences. Meeting this challenge requires use of the best media tools for development and delivery of ideas and information: print, photography, packaging, logos, publications, the Internet, film, television, and animation.

Program Information

In the Graphic Design Program – Media Technologies, students will take visual ideas from initial concept through creative and technical development and, ultimately, to a final form that is ready for production. Various tools are used, from hand tools for sketches to the latest computerized aids for print or online media. We focus on projects modeled with industry realities, relevant to high-impact, effective communication.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Select appropriate software tools to achieve effective design solutions;
  • Communicate design concepts at various stages of development using the design process;
  • Develop print and multimedia concepts using traditional, computer-based, and video design tools;
  • Develop and present creative portfolios verbally and in writing to clients;
  • Interact with clients, marketing personnel, copy writers, web designers, photographers, and printing companies; and
  • Demonstrate a respect for diversity of ideas and concepts in a group environment.

Special Program Requirements

In addition to the program requirements listed above, students must meet the following conditions in order to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement: The cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0;
  2. College Technical Core GPA Requirement: The cumulative GPA of credits attempted and completed towards the technical core of the diploma or degree must be at least 2.0; and
  3. Residency Requirement: students must complete 25% (7) of their credits at Central Lakes College.
  4. Graphic Design students are required to purchase an Apple laptop with the Adobe Creative Cloud software. See latest requirement through bookstore website.

Transfer Opportunities

Students have the opportunity to transfer to Bemidji State University and finish a four-year Bachelor of Arts in Design Technology with an emphasis in Digital Design/Print, Digital Design/Electronic, or Exhibit Design.

Career Titles

Common career titles in this field include advertising agency designer, multimedia designer, corporate in-house designer, illustrator, print designer, art director, package designer, poster/billboard designer, website designer, magazine designer, video editor, book designer, animation consultant/designer, and newspaper designer.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Program Course Requirements

Fall Semester – 1st year (15 credits)
GDES 1105  Concepts of Design, 3 cr
GDES 1140  Adobe Photoshop, 3 cr
GDES 1142  Adobe Illustrator, 3 cr
GDES 1144  Adobe InDesign, 3 cr
GDES 1134 Typography, 3 cr

Spring Semester – 1st year (15 credits)
GDES 1122*  Graphic Design Production, 3 cr
GDES 1124 Corporate ID, 3 cr
GDES 1120 Publication Design, 3 cr
GDES 2352 Shop Internship, 6 cr

F
all Semester – 2nd year (15 credits)
GDES 2130 Motion Graphics 1, 3 cr
GDES 2132 Designs in Social Media, 3 cr
GDES 2100 Graphic Design 1, 3 cr
GDES 2352  Shop Internship, 6 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 45 CREDITS

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X