Global Studies Certificate

Global Studies Certificate

Career Description

The Global Studies Certificate is designed to enable students to meet the demands of a global society. As competition for employment increases employers will be seeking employees that will enhance their organization through global and diverse perspectives. This certificate provides students with a competitive advantage that their peers may not possess. There are many career opportunities for students with Global Studies Emphasis. Students can apply their knowledge and skills in areas of business, education, international associations, non-governmental and governmental organizations, and foreign relations. Finding an entry-level job in a foreign country is increasingly popular because it improves a graduate’s foreign language skill, develops local networking and creates the advantage of international work experience. Students may choose to pursue further education in International Affairs, Global Business, International Law and other programs. Many U.S. government jobs that don’t require specialization or additional education are available with agencies such as the Peace Corps or in the Foreign Services. A number of international nonprofits and Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs) offer solid entry-level positions for people without advanced degrees.

Program Information

By completing the Global Studies Certificate, students will develop an awareness of intercultural relations skills, diversity issues, and human rights issues. They will gain an understanding of international ethical issues and America’s own multicultural structure. Students are exposed to the literature, music and art of other cultures and gain knowledge of human and social geography. The program consists of an introductory course in global studies and a capstone project including a travel study option or cultural immersion experience.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Discuss individual and group human values within both an historical and contemporary dimension;
  • Identify and analyze the complex local-global connections between practices, system, ideas and processes in the world;
  • Analyze major global challenges and discuss how cultural, economic, ecological, and political differences affect possible solutions;
  • Explain the interconnectedness of global decisions and events;
  • Explain how/why the environmental well-being of the world demands personal and collective responsibility at both the local and global levels; and
  • Explain the concept of a global citizen and the responsibility global citizens share for their common global future.

Special Program Requirements

In addition to the program requirements, students must meet the following conditions in order to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement: cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0;
  2. Residency Requirement: students must complete 25% of their credits at Central Lakes College.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

temple

Program Course Requirements

Required Courses (12 credits)
COMM 2420 Intercultural Communication, 3 cr
GLST 1401 Introduction to Global Studies, 3 cr
GLST 1491 Global Studies Travel, 1-4 cr OR GLST 2401 Global Studies Capstone, 1-3 cr
SPAN 1402* Beginning Spanish II, 4 cr

Select 3 credits from the following History/Social Behavior Sciences courses:
ANTH 1457 Cultural Anthropology, 3 cr
ESCI 1454 Planet Earth, 4 cr
GEOG 1400 Physical Geography, 3 cr
GEOG 1410 Maps and Places, 3 cr
GEOG 1421 World Regional Geography, 3 cr
GEOG 1459 Cultural Geography, 3 cr
GLST 2401 Global Studies Capstone, 3 cr
HIST 1413 World History II, 1500 to Present, 3 cr
POLS 2450 International Relations, 3 cr
SOCL 2422 Culture and Environment, 3 cr

Select 3 credits from the following Fine Arts and Humanities courses:
MUSC 2410 Music in World Culture, 3 cr
PHIL 1411 World Religion, 3 cr
SPAN 2420 Many Faces of Mexico, 3 cr
SPAN 2425 Cultures of Latin America, 3 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 18 credits

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X