Enology A.A.S. Degree

Enology A.A.S. Degree

Program Description

The program provides the knowledge required to produce wines of the highest quality. Students learn the science, agriculture, and business skills necessary to enhance Minnesota’s rapidly growing wine industry. Included is a foundation in chemistry and biology along with specific courses related to cultivar selection, soil preparation, cellar maintenance and marketing. The program is specifically designed to include fieldwork and laboratory practicums at local wineries.

Program Outcomes

By completing this program, students will achieve the following learning outcomes:

  • Examine grape samples to ascertain sweetness and acidity of crop, and determine harvest time based off of this information;
  • Select yeasts for fermentation and barrels for aging;
  • Communicate with vineyard manager regarding crop load, harvest time, and other issues related to crop quality;
  • Correct sugar and acid levels of must and wine if necessary;
  • Oversee primary fermentation by punching down the grape skin cap, regulating fermentation temperature and the amount of time the skins are in contact with the must, and initiating malolactic fermentation;
  • Supervise workers in crushing and pressing processes, or perform those duties themselves;
  • Supervise cellar operations during secondary fermentation with tasks such as aging, topping off barrels, and clearing wine of fermentation residue;
  • Direct and coordinate blending and bottling of wine, or perform those duties themselves.

Career Opportunities

Enologists oversee the production of wine. They inspect grapes and evaluate the crops to determine when to harvest and start wine production. They ensure proper crushing methods and techniques. Responsibilities depend on the size of the winery. The enologist is heavily involved in quality control. One may work with a laboratory technician if employed by a larger winery. Another may develop new wines or specialize in a specific wine in a larger winery.

Transfer Opportunities

Viticulture and Enology Science and Technology Alliance (VESTA) is a consortium of colleges, including Central Lakes College, Northeast Iowa Community College, Missouri State University, Rend Lake (Ill.) Community College, and Redlands (Okla) Community College. See an advisor for further information about completing a bachelor’s degree.

Graduation Requirements

In addition to the program requirements, students must meet the following conditions in order to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement: cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0;
  2. College Technical Core GPA Requirement: cumulative GPA of credits attempted and completed towards the technical core of the diploma or degree must be at least 2.0;
  3. Residency Requirement: students must complete 25% of their credits at Central Lakes College.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Program Course Requirements

BUSN 1166     Business Communications……………………… 3 cr
COMP 1120    Intro to Computer Applications……………… 3 cr
MATH 1506    Beginning College Algebra……………………… 4 cr
VITI 1105         Molecular Principles of Grape and Wine.. 4 cr
VITI 1146*      Introduction to Enology…………………………. 3 cr
VITI 1148*      Winery Sanitation…………………………………… 3 cr
VITI 1160*      Winery Equipment Operation………………… 2 cr
VITI 1110         Introduction to Wine Microorganisms…… 3 cr
VITI 1246*      Intermediate Enology – Harvest/Crush….. 2 cr
VITI 1247*      Intermediate Enology – Post Harvest…….. 2 cr
VITI 1257*      Fall Wine Production Internship…………….. 3 cr
VITI 1259*      Cellar Operations Technology………………… 2 cr
VITI 1266*      Sensory Evaluation…………………………………. 3 cr
VITI 1268*      Wine and Must Analysis…………………………. 3 cr

Students must choose a minimum of two (2) credits from the following courses:

VITI 1111         Introduction to Viticulture and Vineyard Establishment………………………… 3 cr
VITI 1147*      Introduction to Fruit Wine Production…… 2 cr
VITI 1211         Integrated Pest Management………………… 2 cr
VITI 1293         Soils for Viticulture…………………………………. 3 cr

An A.A.S. degree requires a minimum of 15 credits selected from at least three of the ten goal areas of the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum (MnTC). Students must include the following courses:

BIOL 1431       General Biology I (Goal 3)………………………. 5 cr
BIOL 2457*     Microbiology (Goal 3)…………………………….. 4 cr
COMM 1430   Public Speaking (Goals 1,2)…………………….. 3 cr
ENGL 1422      Practical Writing (Goal 1)……………………….. 3 cr
POLS 1435       American Government and Politics (Goals 5,9)…………………………………. 3 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 60 CREDITS

*Denotes Prerequisites

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIO Student Support Services 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Mallori Sheik Director of Accessibility Services Accessibility 218-855-8175 mallori.sheik@clcmn.edu 4
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor Faculty Mathematics Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIO Student Support Services 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Faculty Psychology 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray instructor HistoryTransferPathway - History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Jim Kocherer Instructor FarmBusinessManagement 763-218-7030 jim.kocherer@clcmn.edu https://dynamicforms.ngwebsolutions.com/ShowForm.aspx?RequestedDynamicFormTemplate=0938e712-0d6d-4332-aba3-158670c49513 17
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Teresa Schmitz Assistant Director of HR Human Resources 218-855-8050 teresa.schmitz@clcmn.edu 19
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessInstructor - BusinessTransfer 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Call Now
X
X