Home / Campus News / Student Award Day pulls in plenty of winners

Student Award Day pulls in plenty of winners

Students and staff at both the Staples and Brainerd campuses were honored this week at our Student Awards Day.
Student employee of the year: Brent Sterriker
Senate member of the year: Alex Began
Male student of the year: Josh Guyse
Female student of the year: Natalie Berens
Club of the year: Diesel Club
Outstanding advisor: Michael Sams
Outstanding faculty of the year: Sandy Porter
Outstanding Staff of the year: Gayle Wonders
CLC Department of the year: Photography Department
Administrator of the year: Kari Christiansen

Student employee of the year: Brent Balmer
Club of the year: Astronomical Society
Outstanding advisor: Ann Chouinard
Outstanding faculty of the year: Mamfe Osafo
Outstanding staff of the year: Phil Olsen
CLC Department of the year: TRIO
Administrator of the year: David Hietala
Executive officer of the year: Anna Stevens
Senator of the year: Lynn Bauer
Female freshman of the year: Hannah Maloney
Male freshman of the year: Joseph Lambrecht
Female sophomore of the year: Alexandra Borell
Male sophomore of the year: Brad Aasen
Student of the year: Lindsey Zitzloff
CLC Writing Awards:
In essays:
Hannah Gatton, 1st place
Tina Laxen, 2nd place
Rob Anderson, 3rd place
In short fiction/drama:
Miranda Ylinen, 1st place
Jamie Osborn, 2nd place
Zacharia Johnson, 3rd place
In poetry:
Mandy Fontenot: 1st and 2nd place
Suz Anne Wipperling, 3rd place
Natural Resources Awards:
Highest GPA for First Year NR Student: Alex Binsfeld
Highest GPA for Second Year NR Student: Adam Maleski
Above & Beyond Award: Hagen Gamradt
Phi Theta Kappa Awards:
Phi Theta Kappa officer award: Lindsay Zitzloff, Lexi Borell, Michael Talbert, Amy Struthers-Wagner and Allie LaSart.
Green Award:
Randy Wallace
Paul Findorff Business Award:
Breanna Block
Reese/Webb Family Memorial Scholarship:
Steve Walter
TRIO Student of the Year Award:
Outstanding TRIO Student: Brianna Rubio and Chelsea Kraemer.
MN TRIO scholarship winner ($1,000): Angelique Hayes, who is one of only 7 students to receive the scholarship in MN this year, and only the second CLC TRIO student to be awarded one since 2001.
TRIO Food Shelf Drive Award: CLC Administration Department and Karen Mertes
Eric Makowski-Budrow, TRIO lab assistant coordinated the drive
Excellence in Athletics:
Baseball: Brad Meyer team leader and amongst the top in the MCAC in pitching 2.11 era and batting .404 avg. Also won the Northern Division week 3 Player of the Week.
Softball: Faith Kassulker amongst league leaders in home runs with 5 and Lindsey Marcyes with .400 avg
Mens Basketball: 2015 Northern Division Champions; 4th place finish in the MCAC Tournament; 3 All Northern Division recipients: Radamus Jones, Alex Koch, DJ Jones. Coach of the year: Jim Russell
Womens Basketball: 2 All Northern Division recipients: Kelly Pearson and Mackenzie Holst
Men’s Golf: 5th Place in the Region 13 Tournament. National Tournament alternate – James Cragun who shot a 161 at the region championship.
Football: 2014 Northern Division Champions; MCAC Runner’s up; 2014 El Toro Bowl participants; Finished ranked #13 in the NJCAA Poll; 16 All-MCAC recipients: 1st team- Jake Faber, Steve Wroblewski, Josh Johnson, Kieran Johnson, Josh Mantel, Cedric Davis. 2nd team- Athen Ashton, Preston Scheuer, Ajrian Stone-Caldwell, Sam Moriarty, Josh Lanners, HM Jake Kassulker, Austin Rucks, Logan Novak, Max Strand, Tre Deadwiler.
MCAC Kicker of the year: Fafa Asante.
Two All-Americans: Jake Faber and Josh Johnson
2014 Northern Division Coach of the year: Greg Medeck. 
Volleyball: 2014 Northern Division Champions; 5th place finish in NJCAA Tournament; #5 Ranking in the final NJCAA Poll; 4 All Northern Division recipients: Sam Schlangen, Ashton Kapphahn, Ashley Abear, Shelby Uphoff. Two All MCAC recipients: Sam Schlangen and Ashton Kapphahn.
Player of the year: Sam Schlangen
All-American: Sam Schlangen
Coach of the year: Jane Peterson 
Academic Achievement Awards:
(Goes to students who have attended one or more full-time, consecutive semesters, earned a cumulative 4.0 grade point average, and is currently enrolled full-time at Central Lakes College.)
Shailey Anderson
Michelle Beaulieu
Alexander Becker
AuriAnna Boie
Claire Browning
Steven Cecko
Thomas Chartier
Devin Cheek
Danica Cheney
Danielle Connor
David DeCent
Kathryn DeGeest
Trayvond Dejones
Margaux Douvier
Ethan Duscher
Jamie Gack
Alexandra Hartwig
Joleen Hess
Joshua Hofmann
Sydney Holt
Heather Kleve
Ashley Kliniske
Joseph Lambrecht
Scott Lennander
Ian Martin
Levi Palmer
Mariah Parks
Amy Pawlowski
Mitchell Quinn
Michael Raddatz
Gary Robinson
Audrey Schleper
Tarna Squires
Chelsey Stang
Amy Struthers-Wagnaar
Clinton Swenson
Clayton Taylor
Lori Welle
Brooke Westrich
Glen Wetherbee
Amanda Wiemer
Dylan Bentfield
Jacqueline Brine-Doyle
Abby Gindorff
Bonnie Holmvig
Austin Leikvoll
Barbara Miller
Amanda Nies
Samantha Perry
Tayler Pfeffer
Alex Stangl
Melia Voss
Briana Ziemer
Stephanita ZumBerge
Michael Bean, Graphic Design
Nicholas Christensen, Machine Tool
Joshua Guyse, Nursing
Tommy Hoheisel, Diesel
Amanda Reger, Photo
Chad Schueller, Robotics
Rustle Warwas, Diesel

About Chris

Call Now Button