Home / Campus News / Educator of Year nominations

Educator of Year nominations

Nominations are open until Nov. 7 for a prestigious statewide college and
university teaching award that since 2008 has included faculty from Central
Lakes College in Brainerd and Staples. The Minnesota State College and Universities Board of Trustees Educator
of the Year Award for Excellence in Teaching is an honor bestowed upon MnSCU
faculty to acknowledge and reward exceptional individual professional
accomplishment, and to encourage ongoing excellence, in teaching.  This award is intended to recognize superior teaching at our colleges
and universities. The award proclaims, on behalf of the entire system, the
Board of Trustees’ pride in the dedication and accomplishment of our faculty in
providing instruction that prepares Minnesota’s college and university students
for their professional, scholarly, and civic lives.

All faculty who are currently full-time and unlimited, tenured, or
tenure-track, and who have at least three years of full-time teaching service
at their home institution are eligible for this award. Faculty, however, may
not self-nominate.

Nominators must be members of the college or university community:
faculty, administrators, students, staff, or community members.

Faculty who are designated as Outstanding Educators by their campus
president must prepare a teaching portfolio which will be reviewed by a system-wide
review committee. This committee will recommend the Educator of the Year award

Past Central Lakes College recipients: Jan Kurtz, Spanish, 2008; Kari
Frisch, Speech, 2009; Gary Carson, Natural Resources, and Janet Bedard, English
and Reading, 2010; Nancy Smith, Health, and Betsy Picciano, Reading, and Director
of Secondary Relations, 2011;  Steve
Anderson, Music, and Martha Kuehn, Psychology, 2012.

For information or to nominate up to two CLC instructors for the 2013
award, contact Jean Mershon at (218) 855-8000, Ext. 8330 or e-mail jmershon@clcmn.edu

About Chris

Call Now Button