Fire Emergency Response Certificate

Fire Emergency Response Certificate

Career Description

The Fire Emergency Response Technician Certificate prepares students for careers as a firefighter, emergency response fields, security services, corrections, governmental services, public utility services, casinos, and dispatch and rescue teams.

Program Information

The Fire Emergency Response Technician Certificate prepares students to work in the fire and emergency medical response fields. The program provides advanced instruction in fire prevention, firefighting techniques, rescue, hazardous materials, and management of fire services. The program meets the objectives of the Minnesota State Fire Certification Board’s Firefighter I and II certifications. The Minnesota State Fire Certification board objectives are based on the National Fire Protection Association’s (NFPA) 1001 Standard on Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Understand fire prevention and safety;
  • Safely suppress a fire;
  • Demonstrate how to properly don and doff appropriate personal protective equipment;
  • Predict fire behavior events based on visual indications on scene;
  • Recognize and mitigate safety hazards;
  • Perform basic rescue techniques;
  • Identify hazardous materials and how to safely manage these materials and situations;
  • Assess emergency situations and determine the appropriate care response;
  • Provide basic life support treatment;
  • Understand and participate in the incident command structure;
  • Assess and document subjective and objective patient information, treatment plan and patient progress; and
  • Communicate incident response needs to technician level responders, dispatch and incident command.

Certification

Minnesota State Fire Certification Board’s Firefighter I and II certifications American Heart Association Healthcare Provider CPR Certification National Registry Emergency Medical Responder certification

Admissions

Students must be at least 16 years of age, have medical clearance from a physician, and pass a personal background check conducted by the State of MN.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below:

https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http://www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Panoramic firefighters using Twirl water fog type fire extinguisher

Program Course Requirements

EMTS 1100 General OSHA Safety, 1 cr
EMTS 1104 Rescue Basics, 3 cr
EMTS 1122 Emergency Medical Technician, 9 cr OR EMTS 1124 Emergency Medial Responder, 3 cr
EMTS 1126 Fire Fighter I and II, 7 cr
EMTS 1132 Fire Fighter Practicum, 2 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 16 CREDITS

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X