Computer IT Security and Networking A.A.S.

Computer IT Security and Networking A.A.S.

Career Description

IT professionals work together to design and improve existing networking and security communication between systems and support end-user technologies to increase productivity in any business environment. They lead the way through the planning and development of new systems using knowledge of hardware, software, and best networking and security practices. IT professionals are not “one size fits all,” especially when it comes to business. Different companies have different needs. IT professionals use skills from multiple areas to plan, design, implement, secure, or troubleshoot endpoint communication, cloud-based or server-based systems on a networking level. This program will prepare students for a wide range of careers in the IT field.

Program Information

The CLC Computer IT Security and Networking A.A.S. degree is designed to train students with the skills and character needed to be successful IT professionals in today’s job market. The program includes a variety of IT concepts and methods used today in emerging technologies and security. With switches, routers, firewalls, endpoints, servers, and networking equipment, students will learn skills needed to be successful in the design, implementation, troubleshooting, communication, and management of IT networking architecture and security in a professional business environment. The curriculum will engage student learning as well as build character and confidence with team building, communication skills, and training in end-user support and customer service. CLC computer technology instructors are industry-certified professionals with years of experience in the classroom and industry.

Program Outcomes

Graduates will be able to:

  • Describe the concepts of computer hardware and system components;
  • Design, configure, and implement various networking architectures utilizing best practices, and security methods;
  • Design, configure, harden, and implement endpoint and server operating systems;
  • Effectively establish secure networking connections between endpoints, applications, services, and local/cloud-based server systems;
  • Understand, design, and collaborate on current IT standards and policies in relation to acceptable use, data classification, incident handling, disaster recovery, business continuity, and security awareness;
  • A thorough understanding of emerging technology, hardware, concepts, and methodology;
  • Locate, evaluate, and properly utilize tools and resources appropriate to a computer technology professional;
  • Apply appropriate security standards to identify, evaluate, and mitigate risk; and
  • Communicate effectively with technical and non-technical audiences.

Special Program Requirements

In addition to the program requirements, students must meet the following conditions to graduate:

  1. College Cumulative GPA Requirement cumulative grade point average (GPA) of credits attempted and completed at CLC must be at least 2.0.
  2. College Technical Core GPA Requirement cumulative GPA of credits attempted and completed towards the technical core of the diploma or degree must be at least 2.0.
  3. Residency Requirement students must complete 25% of their credits at Central Lakes College.

Certification

This program will prepare students for the following certifications from CompTIA A+, Network+ and Security+, Linux+, Server+, Cloud+, CySA+, and Project+. Students are encouraged to pursue certifications however they are not required for program completion and require additional costs per exam. Certification educational discounts are available to CLC Students through CompTIA and Microsoft.

Employment Statistics

For more information regarding employment statistics, career salary information and estimated job growth, follow the resource links below

https//apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/
http//www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
http//www.iseek.org/jobs/jobmarket.html

Program Course Requirements

Semester One (14 credits)
COMP 1120 Introduction to Computer Apps, 3 cr
COMP 1125 A+, 5 cr
COMP 1128 IT Documentation and Support, 3 cr
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum, 3 cr

Semester Two (16 credits)
COMP 1126 Network+, 4 cr
COMP 1127 Security+, 4 cr
COMP 1129 IT Careers, 2 cr
ENGL 1422 Practical Writing, 3 cr
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum, 3 cr

Semester Three (15 credits)
COMP 2161 Command-Line and Scripting, 4 cr
COMP 2162 Server Administration and Management, 4 cr
COMP 2163 Network Security and Analysis, 4 cr
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum, 3 cr

Semester Four (15 credits)
COMP 2164 Cloud Architecture, Deployment and Security, 4 cr
COMP 2165 Project Management, 4 cr
COMP 2166 Network Defense Capstone, 4 cr
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum, 3 cr

GRADUATION REQUIREMENT – 60 CREDITS
*Denotes Prerequisite or Co-requisite

Program Instructors

Photo First Name Last Name Position Department Phone Email Alt. Phone: URL wdt_ID
Aubrey Beadell Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8014 aubrey.beadell@clcmn.edu 1
Nick O'Reilly Occupational Skills Program College Lab Assistant OccupationalSkills 218-855-8077 Nicholas.oreilly@clcmn.edu 2
Kevin Lomax College Lab Assistant Automotive Faculty 218-855-8000 KLomax@clcmn.edu 3
Jody Flynn Accessibility Services Assistant Accessibility 218-855-8056 jody.flynn@clcmn.edu 5
Missy Tureson Box Office Assistant Theatre 218-855-8199 mtureson@clcmn.edu 6
Deana Bobzien Instructor CollegeCareerStudies - Mathematics - Supportive Services 218-855-8339 deana.bobzien@clcmn.edu 7
Brianna Rajkowski Advisor TRIOStudentSupportServices 218-855-8228 brianna.rajkowski@clcmn.edu 8
Cynthia Dionysius AD Nursing Faculty NursingASDegree 218-855-8133 cindy.dionysius@clcmn.edu 9
Tajia Anderson PSEO Specialist Admissions - CollegeCreditInHighSchool- PSEO 218-855-8079 tajia.anderson@clcmn.edu 10
Tracy Tschida Instructor Psychology - CollegeCareerStudies 2188-855-8328 tracy.tschida@clcmn.edu 11
Mike Fitcher Adjunct Instructor MachineTool 218-855-8000 michael.fitcher@clcmn.edu 12
Brent Balmer Videography CLA Videography 218-855-8727 brent.balmer@clcmn.edu 13
David Gray Instructor History 218-855-8276 david.gray@clcmn.edu 14
Jim Nagy Adjunct Instructor GraphicDesign 218-855-8157 james.nagy@clcmn.edu 15
Brandon Schneider Instructor HeavyEquipment 218-894-5179 brandon.schneider@clcmn.edu 16
Natalia DePauw Director of Dual Enrollment Advising - PSEO - CollegeCreditInHighSchool 218-855-8263 natalia.depauw@clcmn.edu 18
Amy Disterhaupt Admissions Specialist Admissions 218-855-8250 amy.disterhaupt@clcmn.edu 20
Nick Heisserer Instructor BusinessFaculty - StudentLearningAssessment 218-855-8089 nick.heisserer@clcmn.edu https://outlook.office365.com/owa/calendar/CentralLakesCollege6@MinnState.edu/bookings/ 21
Matthew Krueger Environmental Health and Safety Officer Maintenance 218-855-8115 matthew.krueger@clcmn.edu 22
Mark Lindquist Instructor Music 218-855-8236 mark.lindquist@clcmn.edu 23
Joy Larson Emergency Management and Security Coordinator Security 218-855-8143 joy.larson@clcmn.edu 24
Jeremy Goddard Bookstore/Print Shop Bookstore Supportive Services 218-855-8146 Jeremy.Goddard@clcmn.edu 25
Sarah Jennissen Instsructor NursingAssistant - PracticalNursing - TrainedMedicationAid 218-894-5308 sarah.jennissen@clcmn.edu 26
Kevin Lattu Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8117 kevin.lattu@clcmn.edu 27
Cash Robinson Upward Bound Advisor TRIOUpwardBound 218-855-8076 cash.robinson@clcmn.edu 28
Call Now
X
X